1. K-State home
  2. »College of Human Ecology
  3. »News
  4. »College of Human Ecology recognizes outstanding seniors - College of Human Ecology News

College of Human Ecology

College of Human Ecology recognizes outstanding seniors

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

The College of Human Ecology is proud to recognize the 2019 Spring Commencement outstanding senior award winners. This year’s outstanding senior award winners were nominated by faculty and staff within each of their respective programs.

Three different award categories are available. The Engagement Award is given to a graduating senior(s) who has made exemplary contributions that impact the well-being of the community or individuals in the community. The Leadership Award is given to a graduating senior(s) who has exhibited excellence in leadership; recognized for their contributions to the campus, college, program and professional organizations. The Outstanding Research/Creative Activity award is given to a graduating senior(s) whose research or creative activity has made a significant contribution to his or her field of study.

Winners of the Leadership Award:

Alex Barney, communication sciences and disorders, Shawnee, Kansas; Nicholas Bouzianis, nutritional sciences, Tecumseh, Kansas; Meghan Dyster, human development and family science, Olathe, Kansas; Nathaniel Faflick, human development and family science, Wichita, Kansas; Cody Filbert, hospitality management, Wamego, Kansas; Jack Giardino, personal financial planning, Washington, Iowa; Sandy Her, apparel and textiles, Kansas City, Kansas; Shayna Karmann, kinesiology, Yates Center, Kansas; Makenzie Keen, dietetics, Manhattan, Kansas; Angela Leek, interior design, Olathe, Kansas; Megan Ochoa, nutrition and health, Manhattan, Kansas; McKenna Parker, nutritional sciences, Blue Springs, Missouri.

Winners of the Engagement Award:

Tara Bledsoe, communication sciences and disorders, Silver Lake, Kansas; Catherine Brown, dietetics, Lake Umbagog, New Hampshire; Matthew Burnett, nutritional sciences, Denver, Colorado; Lindsey Hamner, human development and family science, Shawnee, Kansas; Heather Lipps, kinesiology, Portland, Maine; Melissa Motta, nutrition and health, Martinez, California; Abigail Pope, personal financial planning, Leawood, Kansas; Lauren Reyes, hospitality management, Wellington, Kansas; Christina Wiley, human development and family science, Leavenworth, Kansas.

Winners of the Research/Creative Activity Award:

Macy Burke, nutrition and health, Spring Hill, Kansas; Emma Deatherage, communication sciences and disorders, Olathe, Kansas; McLain Hymer, human development and family science, Overland Park, Kansas; Aidan Murray, kinesiology, Salina, Kansas; Dakota Nelson, hospitality management, St. George, Kansas; Josh Payne, personal financial planning, Lyndon, Kansas; Alex Vonderschmidt, dietetics, Gardner, Kansas; Samantha White, apparel and textiles, Tonganoxie, Kansas; McKenzie Zimmermann, human development and family science, Junction City, Kansas.

Seniors will be presented their awards at the annual Graduation Honors and Student Awards celebration on Friday, May 17 in the K-State Student Union.


This article was posted on Wednesday, May 15, 2019, and is filed under Apparel, Textiles, & Interior Design, College News, Family Studies & Human Services, Food, Nutrition, Dietetics and Health, Hospitality Management, Institute of Personal Financial Planning, Kinesiology, Student Research.