1. K-State home
  2. »College of Human Ecology
  3. »News
  4. »FSHS junior Frantz nominated for Truman - College of Human Ecology News

College of Human Ecology

FSHS junior Frantz nominated for Truman

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Courtney Frantz

K-State has nominated Courtney Frantz, junior in family studies and human services with a minor in nonprofit leadership, for the 2012 Harry S. Truman Scholarship.

Frantz is a member of Gamma Phi Beta sorority and the founder of Wildcat Buddies. The service organization partners adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities with K-State students to further social interaction and acceptance.

She is a volunteer for Special Olympics and a member of the K-State Student Alumni Board. Frantz, a graduate of Derby High School, is the daughter of Karen and Lynn Bainter, Derby, and Lee and Annie Frantz, Mulvane.

The Truman Scholarship recognizes college students with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in public service, government or the nonprofit sector. If awarded, it provides up to $30,000 in financial support for graduate education. The four nominated K-State students will compete with more than 600 students across the nation for the 60 scholarships awarded. Finalists will be announced Feb. 24, and scholars will be announced March 30.

The three other nominees are Erin White, a senior in political science with a minor in nonprofit leadership; Lora K. McGraw, senior working on a double major in political science and women's studies, with a minor in Spanish and a pre-law emphasis; and Rachel Hoppins, junior in biology with a secondary major in natural resources and environmental science and a minor in leadership studies

Since the Truman Foundation was established in 1977, 33 Kansas State University students have been awarded the Truman Scholarship, ranking K-State first for the number of Truman scholars in the nation among all public universities. In 1996, the Truman Foundation named K-State a Truman Scholar Honor Institution, one of 17 inaugural schools to receive the title.

This article was posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012, and is filed under College News, Family Studies & Human Services.