1. K-State home
  2. »College of Human Ecology
  3. »News
  4. »K-State Awards Promotions, Tenure - College of Human Ecology News

College of Human Ecology

K-State Awards Promotions, Tenure

Monday, March 13, 2006

MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University is promoting 22 faculty members to the rank of full professor and 31 faculty members to associate professor. In addition, 32 faculty are earning tenure. The promotions in rank and the granting of tenure were approved by Jon Wefald, K-State president. They go into effect July 1.

Earning promotions to full professor are: Christer Aakeroy, chemistry; "Mahbub" Alam, biological and agricultural engineering; David Auckly, mathematics; Yang Ming Chang, economics; Zenghu Chang, physics; Steven Eckels, mechanical and nuclear engineering; David Fritchen, architectural engineering and construction science; Allan Fritz, agronomy; Socorro Herrera, elementary education; Daniel Higgins, chemistry; Kenneth Kelley, Southeast Agricultural Research Center; William Kuhn, electrical and computer engineering; John Leatherman, agricultural economics; Diane McGrath, secondary education; Richard Oberst, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Richard Ott, accounting; Peter Pfromm, chemical engineering; Pietro Poggi-Corradini, mathematics; David Procter, speech communication, theater and dance; Trudy Salsberry, educational leadership; Mitchell Tuinstra, agronomy; and Kimberly Williams, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources.

Earning promotion to associate professor and tenure are: Laura Armbrust, clinical sciences; Katsura Asano, biology; Ki-Joon Back, hotel, restaurant, institution management and dietetics; Eric Bernard, landscape architecture and regional and community planning; Joel DeRouchey, animal sciences and industry; Jacqueline Fassler-Kerstetter, music; Keith Gido, biology; Thomas Gould, journalism and mass communications; Mark Haub, human nutrition; Stacy Hutchinson, biological and agricultural engineering; Ari Jumpponen, biology; Marilyn Kaff, special education; Kathleen King, art; Marianne Korten, mathematics; Christopher Levy, chemistry; Dong Li, economics; James Nelson, plant pathology; Douglas Patterson, philosophy; Hikaru Peterson, agricultural economics; Jeffrey Peterson, agricultural economics; Hayder Rasheed, civil engineering; Stefan Romanoschi, civil engineering; Eric Shappee, aviation; Dale Schinstock, mechanical and nuclear engineering; Jimmy Splichal, aviation; Sutton Stephens, architectural engineering and construction science; Marcia Stockham, social sciences and humanities, K-State Libraries; Weiqun "George" Wang, human nutrition; Karin Westman, English; and Gregory Zolnerowich, entomology.

Earning promotion to associate professor is James H. Long Jr., Southeast Agricultural Research Center.

Earning tenure are Larry Hollis, associate professor of animal sciences and industry; and Douglas McGregor, associate professor of mechanical and nuclear engineering.

This article was posted on Monday, March 13, 2006, and is filed under Food, Nutrition, Dietetics and Health, Hospitality Management.