1. K-State home
  2. »College of Human Ecology
  3. »News
  4. »K-Staters Win "Best Paper" Award Two Years in a Row at Prestigious Conference - College of Human Ecology News

College of Human Ecology

K-Staters Win "Best Paper" Award Two Years in a Row at Prestigious Conference

Wednesday, January 11, 2006

MANHATTAN -- For the second consecutive year, Kansas State University's graduate program in hotel, restaurant, institution management and dietetics won one of two Best Paper Awards at the 11th Annual Graduate Research Conference in Hospitality Jan. 4-6 in Seattle.

Eunju (Julie) Yoon and Carol Shanklin, professor and associate dean of K-State's Graduate School, won for their paper, "Implementation of Food Biosecurity Management Plan Against Terrorism in On-Site Foodservice Operations." The Yoon and Shanklin paper won out over 236 other papers submitted at the conference. Of the nine papers nominated for Best Paper awards, two were from K-State. Li-Tzang (Jane) Hsu's paper, written with former K-State faculty member Shawn Jang, "Post-Merger Financial Performance of the Lodging Industry" was also nominated.

"This conference is the premier research conference in hospitality management," said Deborah Canter, professor and department head. "The conference is attended by graduate students from all the major schools with graduate programs in hospitality -- such as Purdue, University of Nevada Las Vegas, University of Houston, Virginia Polytech, -- as well as international schools such as Hong Kong Polytechnic University. So this is a most impressive achievement for K-State to win 'Best Paper' two years in a row. It is quite a feat, especially against some of the 'big names like Purdue and UNLV. This skyrockets the reputation of our graduate program into the stratosphere."

Hotel, Restaurant, Institution Management and Dietetics faculty members Ki-Joon Back, assistant professor; Chihyung Ok, visiting assistant professor; along with Canter and Shanklin also attended the conference. Graduate students who attended the conference and gave presentations included: Chun-Fang (Stephanie) Chiang, Amelia Estepa-Asperin, Heesup Han, Li-Tzang (Jane) Hsu, Jin-Soo Lee, WooMi Phillips, Lynn Riggins, Hyung Seo (Bobby) Ryu, Eunju (Julie) Yoon.

This article was posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2006, and is filed under Hospitality Management.